The Critics' Circle Film Visual arts Dance Music Drama Home

In this section

Next Next
Helena Bonham Carter

Critics’ Circle Film Awards to Honour Helena Bonham Carter

Actress to receive the Dilys Powell Award at January event

CC Film Section

Published: 11/12/2012

Britain’s leading film critics will bestow their highest honour, the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film to the iconic actress Helena Bonham Carter at the 33rd London Critics-Circle Film Awards on 20th January. Bonham Carter joins the illustrious company of previous winners Dirk Bogarde, Richard Attenborough, Julie Walters, Judi Dench, Nicolas Roeg, Quentin Tarantino and Kristin Scott Thomas.


One of the most enduring and versatile British actresses of her generation, Helena Bonham Carter made an unforgettable entrance to cinema with 1985’s A Room With a View. She quickly became a leading light in period dramas such as Howard’s End, Frankenstein and The Wings of a Dove, the latter gaining the actress her first Oscar nomination as well as the Critics' Circle award for 1998's British Actress of the Year. A visceral turn in Fight Clubproved her range beyond doubt: many varied, high-profile roles followed, including a recurring part as Bellatrix Lestrange in the Harry Potter series.


Often working with her partner Tim Burton, Ms Bonham Carter has showed herself to be an exceptional character actress as well as a leading lady in everything from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory to Sweeney Todd. In 2011 she was again nominated for an Oscar for The King’s Speech; this past week she has taken on the iconic role of Miss Haversham in Mike Newell’s Great Expectations, with the epic musical Les Misérables due early next year.


Ms Bonham Carter said of the honour: "To be chosen for this award is a surprise and an honour. I am delighted! It's always nice when critics say something nice about you for a change, and especially the critics in your hometown."


Chair of The Critics’ Circle Film Awards, Rich Cline, added: "Helena Bonham Carter is an undisputed star of British cinema and one the Critics’ Circle is absolutely delighted to honour. Her filmography is packed with iconic, offbeat characters, each of which she invests with an unusual spark of humanity. She regularly receives nods from the Critics' Circle Film Award, most recently with two nominations in 2010, for The King's Speech and Alice in Wonderland. And she gave three unforgettable film performances this past year."


The Dilys Powell Award will be presented to Helena Bonham Carter at the London Critics' Circle Film Awards on Sunday 20th January at the May Fair Hotel, where the Critics’ Circle will also reveal its full list of annual award winners at the glittering ceremony. Nominations for all other award categories will be announced on Tuesday 18th December.


The 33rd annual edition of the London Critics' Circle Film Awards will be held in aid of their charity partner Missing People, a 24/7 lifeline when someone disappears.


The awards ceremony has recently relocated to the May Fair Hotel, which is kindly supporting this year's event. This luxury 5 star hotel, located in the heart of London's Mayfair, will provide a more glamorous, intimate location for the starry red carpet event.


Previous recipients of the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film:


1991 – Dirk Bogarde 

1992 – Freddie Young

1993 – Christopher Lee

1994 – Richard Attenborough

1995 – Wendy Hiller

1996 – John Mills

1997 – Michael Caine

1998 – John Hurt and Albert Finney

1999 – Mike Leigh

2000 – Richard Harris

2001 – Charlotte Rampling

2002 – Lewis Gilbert

2003 – Tom Courtenay

2004 – Ken Loach

2005 – Bryan Forbes

2006 – Leslie Phillips

2007 – Julie Walters

2008 – Judi Dench

2009 – Quentin Tarantino

2010 – Kristin Scott Thomas 

2011 – Nicolas Roeg