Drama Members

David Adams, Michael Arditti, Jeremy Austin, Tim Bano, Kate Bassett, David Benedict, Raymond V Bennett, Gerald Berkowitz, Clare Brennan,  Mary Brennan, Georgina Brown, Mark Brown, Robert Butler, Paul Callan, Dominic Cavendish, David Chadderton, Ned Chaillet, James Christopher, Susannah Clapp, Nigel Cliff, Mark Cook, Maddy Costa, Michael Coveney, Steve Cramer, Anthony Curtis, Nick Curtis, Michael Darvell, Robert Dawson Scott, Nicholas de Jongh, Jane Edwardes, Simon Edge, Susan Elkin, John Elsom, Vera Elyashev, DL Evans, Mark Fisher, Philip Fisher, Karen Fricker, Roger Foss, Lyn Gardner, Sharon Garfinkel, Jonathan Gibbs, Thelma Good, Robert Gore-Langton, Bill Hagerty, Rachel Halliburton, Robert Hanks, Christopher Hart, Andrew Haydon, Sarah Hemming, Ian Herbert, Robert Hewison, Henry Hitchings, Alan Hulme, James Inverne, Emma John, Ian Johns, Oliver Jones, Jeremy Kingston, Ruth Leon, Paul Levy, Brian Logan, Catherine Love, Lizzie Loveridge, Howard Loxton, Kate Maltby, Sam Marlowe, Patrick Marmion, Diana Damian Martin, Dominic Maxwell, Caroline McGinn, Joyce McMillan, Fiona Mountford, Siobhan Murphy,John Nathan, Heather Neill, Benedict Nightingale, Kevin O’Sullivan, Terri Paddock, Michael Parker, Phil Penfold, John Peter, Lucy Powell, Stewart Pringle, Kieron Quirke, David Roper, William Russell, Adam Scott, Victoria Segal, Mark Shenton, Robert Shore, Ian Shuttleworth, Aleks Sierz, Neil Smith, Nick Smurthwaite, Charles Spencer, Siobhan Synnot, Maxie Szalwinska, Robert Tanitch, Paul Taylor, Matt Trueman, Tom Wicker, Lyndsey Winship, Holly Williams, Carole Woddis, Matt Wolf, Toby Young.

Honorary members

Michael Billington, Michael Coveney, Clive Hirschhorn, Herbert Kretzmer, Jack Lewis, Blanche Marvin, Garry O’Connor, Peter Roberts,  John Russell Taylor, Irving Wardle.

News & Reviews

King’s Head Theatre to Move

The end of an era, start of a new venture The grand daddy of pub theatres, The King's Head Theatre in Islington opened in 1970 by Dan Crawford and home to a legion of stars to be and stars, as well as some memorable productions, is to moved in 2018 to brand new...

read more

The 2016 Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards

William Russell Held at the Prince of Wales Theatre on Tuesday 31 January the winners of the Critics' Circle Theatre awards were - Best New Play The Flick by Annie Baker at the National Theatre. Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical Groundhog Day at the Old Vic. Best...

read more

The 2015 Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards

William Russell   The winners of the 2015 Critics' Circle Theatre Awards Pictures by Stephen Pover Photography. ................................................................................................... Best New Play  Hangmen by Martin McDonagh The Peter...

read more

The 2014 Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards

Jane Edwardes Once again, the Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards, held at the Prince of Wales Theatre, were a very different affair from other award ceremonies, partly because they are so much more informal, and partly because we have Arthur Smith as our warm-up. Much...

read more

Anthony Curtis Obituary

Anthony Curtis, who has died aged 88 while on holiday in France was a member of our Drama section since 1978. Born in London he was arts and literary editor of the Financial Times from 1970-74, joining the paper after a spell as deputy editor of the Times Literary...

read more

The 2013 Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards

Jane Edwardes The 25th Critics' Circle Theatre Awards were held on January 28 at lunchtime at the Prince of Wales Theatre. There have been times in the past when a lack of a sponsor has jeopardised the future of the awards but thankfully we are now fortunate to be...

read more