Chair: Mark Shenton
Hon Secretary: William Russell
Contact for matters about the Drama sectionwilliamfinland@gmail.com

The founder members of the Circle were mostly drama critics who decided, most being freelancers, that in unity lay strength and decided in 2013 under the auspices of the Institute of Journalists to set up this organisation. SR Littlewood (Daily Chronicle), JT Grein (who first brought Ibsen’s Ghosts to London in 1891) and John Parker (the 1913 editor of Who’s Who in the Theatre) arranged the first general meeting in the Hall of the Institute of Journalists when Grein took to the stage and said – “Well, gentlemen, here we are! Let us do something. I propose that we begin by electing William Archer to the chair.” Archer, who translated the plays of Ibsen,  a leading critic of the day, duly became president with Littlewood as Honorary Secretary to be succeeded in 1925 by Parker, who remained in that office until his death in 1952. their very first business, and something which still matters today, was about the problems of getting review tickets from promoters.

Drama critics who have been president of the Critics’ Circle include St John Ervine (1929), Ivor Brown (1934), James Agate (1938), Sir Harold Hobson (1955), Philip Hope-Wallace (1958), JC Trewin (1964), Jack Tinker (1992-94), Jane Edwardes (2000-2002) and Charles Spencer (2008-10). The current chair of the section is Mark Shenton of The Stage.

The section’s Theatre Awards were set up in 1989 after much debate about whether critics should make awards. That debate is over and now all sections do so, and the Circle as a whole presents an annual award for Services to the Arts in Britain. Since 1996 the Theatre Awards have included the Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer – Tinker was a much loved critic for the Daily Mail. In 2001 a new award was instituted in memory of the husband and wife critical partnership of John and Wendy Trewin which took  the form of a medal for the Best Shakespearean Performance of the year. In 2016, after the death of their son Ion Trewin, it was renamed the Trewin Medal. In 2016, the award for best new or revived musical, which until 1994 had been the award for best new musical, was renamed the Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical in honour of the late Peter Hepple’s outstanding contribution to the Critics’ Circle of which he was hon gen secretary for many years.

The section is also affiliated to the International Association of Theatre Critics, a body with similar aims on an international scale. The IATC holds a congress every two years. Details of IATC aims and activities can be found at www.aict-iatc.org


News & Reviews

King’s Head Theatre to Move

The end of an era, start of a new venture The grand daddy of pub theatres, The King's Head Theatre in Islington opened in 1970 by Dan Crawford and home to a legion of stars to be and stars, as well as some memorable productions, is to moved in 2018 to brand new...

read more

The 2016 Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards

William Russell Held at the Prince of Wales Theatre on Tuesday 31 January the winners of the Critics' Circle Theatre awards were - Best New Play The Flick by Annie Baker at the National Theatre. Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical Groundhog Day at the Old Vic. Best...

read more

The 2015 Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards

William Russell   The winners of the 2015 Critics' Circle Theatre Awards Pictures by Stephen Pover Photography. ................................................................................................... Best New Play  Hangmen by Martin McDonagh The Peter...

read more

The 2014 Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards

Jane Edwardes Once again, the Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards, held at the Prince of Wales Theatre, were a very different affair from other award ceremonies, partly because they are so much more informal, and partly because we have Arthur Smith as our warm-up. Much...

read more

Anthony Curtis Obituary

Anthony Curtis, who has died aged 88 while on holiday in France was a member of our Drama section since 1978. Born in London he was arts and literary editor of the Financial Times from 1970-74, joining the paper after a spell as deputy editor of the Times Literary...

read more

The 2013 Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards

Jane Edwardes The 25th Critics' Circle Theatre Awards were held on January 28 at lunchtime at the Prince of Wales Theatre. There have been times in the past when a lack of a sponsor has jeopardised the future of the awards but thankfully we are now fortunate to be...

read more