Mark Shenton/Simon Russell Beal 2012 Awards CC

Drama section chairman Mark Shenton with Simon Russell Beale at the 2012 Circle Theatre Awards

The Critics Circle

the 2012 Circle Theatre Awards

The Winners

See Jane Edwardes on the Theatre Page

Published: 16/01/2013


Best New Play

The Effect by Lucy Prebble


The Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical (new or revival)

Merrily We Roll Along



Best Actor

Adrian Lester in Red Velvet


Best Actress

Hattie Morahan in A Doll's House


The John and Wendy Trewin Award for Best Shakespearian Performance

Simon Russell Beale in Timon of Athens


Best Director

Benedict Andrews for Three Sisters


Best Designer

Miriam Buether for Wild Swans


Most Promising Playwright

Lolita Chakrabarti for Red Velvet


The Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer (other than a playwright)

Denise Gough in Desire Under the Elms


Special Award

Shakespeare's Globe for Globe to Globe


Full Report on our Theatre Page


Enquiries about the Critics' Circle should be made to the Hon Gen Sec Rick Jones by email or telephone 020 8698 2460.